Jasmeen Patheja

Jasmeen Patheja is an artist based in Bangalore, India. She is a TED and Ashoka ​Fellow. Her project Talk To Me (Blank Noise) was awarded the International Award For Public Art in 2015.  CNN IBN awarded Patheja towards her contribution in Citizen Journalism. Patheja has exhibited at Bronx Museum Of Arts, Tasveer , Museum of Contemporary Art, Denver, Goethe Institute (Bangalore). Her work has been featured in mainstream media, enabling ‘Action Hero’ outreach and connection. Media mentions and features include CNN-IBN, BBC,  The Atlantic, The Guardian, The Hindu, Salon, Elle,Vogue, India Today, Harpers Bazaar.

 

Patheja founded Blank Noise in 2003, a citizen / “Action Hero” led by community arts collective. Projects range across forms of media and communities (performance, videos, live action, t-shirts, installation, murals, posters) and are focused towards bringing attitudinal shifts. She mobilizes a community of “Action Heroes” to eradicate sexual and gender based violence. Action Heroes are individuals from across India and globally who commit building safe spaces.

 

About Blank Noise

http://dmlcentral.net/blog/liz-losh/human-rights-and-social-media-india-blank-noise

 

Select past projects and campaigns:

 

Talk To Me : Brings ‘Action Heroes’ to a conversation with a complete stranger over tea and samosa. The conversations last an hour and address dealing with fear, building empathy.

http://www.citylab.com/commute/2013/07/can-couple-tables-make-bangalores-rapist-lane-safe-again/6094/

 

Safe City Pledge : Every individual or citizen has the ability and power to build a safe space. #SafeCityPledge was initiated days after the Delhi Gang Rape, urging citizens to take collective ownership of sexual violence.

Atlantic Global Voices

 

Meet To Sleep : Action Heroes take a nap in their city park. They initiate a conversation about trust, and explore the language of fear, as that which is taught, learnt, inherited. Ongoing.

 

Hahaha Sangha: Mobilizes women in the neighbourhood to occupy position as ‘Action Heroes’ and laugh out loud. The Hahaha Sangha is a safe space for an intergenerational group of women.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2mAp93ptyFw




Related activities

Jasmeen Patheja

Jasmeen Patheja est un artiste basée à Bangalore, en Inde. Elle est membre d’Ashoka et de TED. Son projet Talk To Me (Blank Noise) a reçu le Prix international d’art public en 2015. CNN IBN l’a également récompensé pour sa contribution au journalisme citoyen. Patheja a exposé son travail au Bronx Museum Of Arts, Tasveer, Museum of Contemporary Art de Denver, l’Institut Goethe de Bangalore. Les grand médias ont présenté son travail, facilitant la communication et le rayonnement du projet ‘Action Hero’. Parmi les médias généralistes qui l’ont présenté, on retrouve : CNN-IBN, BBC, The Atlantic, The Guardian, The Hindu, Salon, Elle, Vogue, India Today, Harpers Bazaar.

Patheja a fondé Blank Noise en 2003, un.e “action héroïque” (action hero)/ citoyenne dirigée par des collectifs artistiques communautaires. Ses projets voyagent à travers différentes formes de médias et de communautés (performances, vidéos, live action, t-shirts, installation, peintures murales, affiches) et se concentrent sur les façons de provoquer des changements de comportements. Elle mobilise une communauté d’ »héro.ïne.s d’action » (action heroes) pour éradiquer les violences de sexe et basées sur le genre. Les “héro.ïne.s d’action” sont des personnes de partout en Inde et à travers le monde et qui participent à la construction d’espaces sûrs.

 

À propos de Blank Noise

http://dmlcentral.net/blog/liz-losh/human-rights-and-social-media-india-blank-noise

 

Sélection de projets et de mobilisations passés :

Talk To Me : Susciter une conversation entre des “héro.ïne.s d’action” et un.e inconnu.e autour d’un thé et de samosa. Les conversations durent une heure et s’articulent autour de la peur, cherchant à créer de l’empathie.

http://www.citylab.com/commute/2013/07/can-couple-tables-make-bangalores-rapist-lane-safe-again/6094/

 

Safe City Pledge : Chaque personne ou citoyen.ne a la capacité et le pouvoir de construire un espace sûr. #SafeCityPledge a été lancé quelques jours après le Delhi Gang Rape (affaire du viol collectif de New Delhi), incitant les citoyen.ne.s à prendre ses responsabilités vis-à-vis de la violence sexuelle, et ce, collectivement.

Atlantic Global Voices
Meet To Sleep :  Les “héro.ïne.s d’action” font une sieste dans les parcs de leurs villes. Ils.elles initient une conversation sur la confiance et explorent le langage de la peur – de la manière dont il est enseigné, appris et hérité. En cours.

 

Hahaha Sangha : mobilise des femmes à prendre la position d’“héroïnes d’action” dans leurs quartiers et à rire de bon coeur. Le Hahaha Sangha est un espace sûr pour un groupe intergénérationnel de femmes.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2mAp93ptyFw




Activités associées