Launched in 2008, Matricules is an online archive project: an imagined and documentary register of Studio XX, gathering more than 5,000 documents (texts, audio, video, images) that offer the community an artistic look at our journey. It brings out the link uniting the three key ideas of our organization: arts, feminisms, and technologies. Conceptualized from the image of weaving and the principle of inclusion specific to feminism and free software, this unique community narrative space is based, on one hand, on the need to appropriate our own history and tools to tell it; and, on the other hand, the desire to be open to multiple voices by giving them visibility.

Created in 2006 by Caroline Martel and jake moore, with the collaboration of Kim Sawchuk, Concordia University and the Daniel Langlois Foundation Research and Documentation Center (CR + D), and with the support of the Canada Arts Council, the first phase of the project was devoted to the definition of the archiving policy and the production of the catalog of our documents. Subsequently, it was thanks to Canadian Heritage and its digital collections program that we designed the project to digitize and put our archives online. The site was developed with the help of Koumbit. In 2010, the third phase of development allowed to add the archives of the show XX Files Radio to the website while reviewing the design of the website.

For more information, read the interview for the 5th anniversary of Matricules in the journal Media-N about the design, history, and future of the project. This article is published in the journal .dpi no 29 with the permission of the Journal of the New Media Caucus where it was originally published in the spring of 2013.

In 2016, we began an archival visualization project to update and facilitate the exploration of content through themes, categories of documents and participants.


This Month in History

20070404.11.33-12.07.mp3

Discussion seminar with Miriam Verburg and Marie-Chantal Turgeon, held at Studio XX, about Web 2.0 demystification.

Featured Document

Mimi Onuoha_Classfication.01

ARTISTS RESIDENCY | CLASSIFICATION.01_Mimi Onuoha. Classification.01 is a wall-mounted sculpture that engages with the present reality of data-driven metrification by highlighting the reliance of collection upon the fraught act of classification.

Biomateria + Contagious Matters are separate but related works that address both the dilemmas of and various potentials for biotechnology in transforming human reality. In this presentation the artists will talk about their ongoing research: WhiteFeather’s work comments on the relationship between nonhuman agents (cell forms) and human technological and creative industry through the production […]

Meet...

Samuel Thulin

Samuel Thulin is an artist and researcher working at the intersection of mobilities research, communication and media studies, sound studies, and critical disability studies. Through his publications and artworks he explores: locative media and contested senses of place; confluences of cartography and auditory culture; self-tracking, chronic illness, and datafication; and creative and emergent research methodologies. […]

Back

Lancé en 2008, Matricules est un projet d’archives en ligne : un registre imagé et documentaire du Studio XX regroupant plus de 5 000 documents (textes, audio, vidéo, images) qui propose à la communauté un regard artistique sur notre parcours. Il fait apparaître le lien unissant les trois notions phares de notre organisme : arts, féminismes et technologies. Conceptualisé à partir de l’image du tissage et du principe d’inclusion propre aux féminismes et aux logiciels libres, cet espace de récit communautaire unique est fondé, d’une part, sur le besoin de s’approprier notre propre histoire et les outils pour la raconter; et, d’autre part, sur le désir d’être ouvert-e-s à de multiples voix en leur donnant une visibilité.

Imaginé en 2006 par Caroline Martel et jake moore, avec la collaboration de Kim Sawchuk, de l’Université Concordia et du Centre de recherche et de documentation (CR+D) de la Fondation Daniel Langlois, et avec l’appui du Conseil des arts du Canada, la première phase du projet a été consacrée à la définition de la politique d’archivage et à la réalisation du catalogue de nos documents. Par la suite, c’est grâce à Patrimoine canadien et à son programme des collections numérisées que nous avons conçu le projet de numérisation et de mise en ligne de nos archives. Le site a été développé avec l’aide de Koumbit, En 2010, une troisième phase de développement a permis d’ajouter les archives de l’émission XX Files Radio au site web tout en révisant l’image du site.

Pour en savoir davantage, parcourez l’entretien paru à l’occasion des 5 ans de Matricules dans la revue Media-N à propos de la conception, de l’histoire et de l’avenir du projet. Cet article est publié dans la revue .dpi no 29 avec la permission du Journal of the New Media Caucus où il est paru à l’origine au printemps 2013.

En septembre 2016, nous avons entrepris un projet de visualisation des archives qui sera bientôt accessible sur cette page. Revenez-nous voir ou abonnez-vous à notre bulletin pour suivre nos nouvelles !


Ce Mois-ci dans notre histoire

ConventionPureData

Studio XX accueillait une partie des ateliers du congres PureData entre le 22 et le 24 août 2007. « L’oeuvre ouverte, le congrès de PureData 2007 » réunissait des artistes, des développeurs et des théoriciens qui sont les créateurs de PureData, qui exploitent le logiciel et en font l’objet de leur réflexion. http://convention.puredata.info

Document en vedette

HTMlles Reader

Recueil de textes, en tirage limité, en complément au numéro 26 de .dpi, produit dans le cadre de la 10e édition du festival Les HTMlles par le Studio XX, le festival et la revue .dpi.

Document au hasard

FPDPressPackage-fr

Rencontrez...

Dayna McLeod

Dayna McLeod est une auteure ainsi qu’une artiste de la vidéo et de la performance dont les œuvres abordent avec un humour mordant toutes sortes de questions sociales brûlantes. Elle a présenté ses performances dans de nombreux endroits, et ses vidéos ont été diffusées dans plusieurs pays d’Europe et d’Amérique du Nord et du Sud, […]

Back