Speculative Storytelling with Machine Learning | Lucas LaRochelle

 

Thursday, December 12, 2019
1 pm – 5 pm
At Studio XX
FREE WORKSHOP

As part of its Slow Tech programming, Studio XX welcomes Lucas LaRochelle, in residency from November 1st to December 13. They are developing QT.bot, an artificial intelligence trained on the textual and visual data of Queering The Map, a community-generated mapping platform of 80 000+ stories of LGBTQ2+ experience, that produces an endless stream of speculative queer futures.

In this workshop, participants will learn the basics of machine learning through developing their own text generating recursive neural networks (RNN). The group will begin with a brief overview of how neural networks function, before diving into the hands on creation of its own RNN using Tensorflow and Python. While their RNN’s are training, they will be invited to think conceptually about the possibilities of storytelling in collaboration with machines.

Step by step instructions will be given, and no prior experience with coding is necessary for this workshop.

*Please come to the workshop with text you would like to play with, saved as a UTF-8 txt file (at least 50KB). The longer the input text, the more interesting the output text! Some examples of what to bring: a book, a television show transcription, your twitter feed, your WhatsApp message history – any text that can be saved as a .txt file will work!

LIMITED SPOTS AVAILABLE – To register, contact atelier@studioxx.org
The workshop will be facilitated in English.




Related activities


Matricules

Speculative Storytelling with Machine Learning | Lucas LaRochelle

 

Le jeudi 12 décembre 2019
De 13h à 17h 
Au Studio XX
ATELIER GRATUIT

Dans le cadre de sa programmation Slow Tech, le Studio XX accueille Lucas LaRochelle, en résidence du 1er novembre au 13 décembre. Iel y développe QT.bot, une intelligence artificielle formée sur les données textuelles et visuelles de Queering The Map, une plateforme cartographique communautaire de plus de 80 000 histoires et expériences LGBTQ2+, qui produit un flux de futurs queer spéculatifs.

Dans cet atelier, les participant-e-s apprendront les bases de l’apprentissage machine en développant leur propre texte générant des réseaux neuronaux récursifs (RNR). Le groupe commencera par un bref aperçu du fonctionnement des réseaux de neurones, avant de se lancer dans la création de son propre RNR en utilisant Tensorflow et Python. Il-elle-s seront aussi invité-e-s à réfléchir aux possibilités de la narration en collaboration avec des machines.

Aucune expérience en programmation n’est nécessaire et des instructions étape par étape seront données.

*Merci d’apporter un texte avec lequel vous aimeriez jouer, enregistré comme un fichier txt UTF-8 (au moins 50KB). Plus le texte d’entrée est long, plus le texte de sortie est intéressant! Quelques exemples de ce qu’il faut apporter : un livre, une transcription d’émission de télévision, votre fil Twitter, l’historique de vos messages WhatsApp – n’importe quel texte qui peut être sauvegardé dans un fichier.txt fonctionnera!

PLACES LIMITÉES – Pour vous inscrire, contactez ateliers@studioxx.org
L’atelier sera donné en anglais.




Activités associées


Participant-e-s

Matricules