Performance Night with Julia Dyck + Electricity Matters

Saturday, February 3, 2018

Doors open at 7 PM – Performances at 8 PM

Free entrance

In Transit – Julia Dyck – 8 PM

Through the use of vocals, field recordings, live instruments, video, and images, this performance explores the sounds and imagery of the en route, the in-between, and the long way around.

Our culture relies heavily on linear timelines, forward and upward movements, the guidance of global positioning systems, and distinct points of departure and target destinations. We are expected to perform the intelligible act of being on the way from one point to another and are valued based on our productivity and timeliness.

In Transit takes us on a journey through an audiovisual environment in constant transition, a temporary abolition of time and productivity. Julia employs sound samples from quotidian life, both natural and synthetic, and uses original and archival video and satellite images to bring the spectator through an experimental cartographic experience, transcending our programmed conceptions of temporality.

Electricity Matters – 8:45 PM

This collective sound performance is the result of the workshop Electricity Matters presented by Nataliya Petkova at Studio XX from January 18th to February 1st, 2018. Electricity Matters is both a technical workshop and an ephemeral collective.
Using raw electricity as the only conceptual material, participants explore the sound potential of electrical flow while creating fluid instruments. The result of this research on analog synthesizers will take the form of a collective sound performance.

 




Related activities


Matricules

Soirée de performance avec Julia Dyck + Electricity Matters

Samedi 3 février 2018 à 20h

Entrée libre

La performance audiovisuelle EN TRANSIT de Julia Dyck sera suivie d’une performance sonore collective développée par les participant-e-s de l’atelier Electricity Matters, donné par Nataliya Petkova au Studio XX.

 

EN TRANSIT – Julia Dyck – 20h

Par l’entremise d’utilisations de voix, d’enregistrements de terrain, d’instruments en direct, de vidéos et d’images, cette performance explore les sons et l’imagerie accordé aux concepts de l’en route, de l’entre-deux et des longs chemins.

Notre culture repose fortement sur des chronologies linéaires, définies par des mouvements vers le haut et de l’avant, l’autoguidage des systèmes GPS et les points de départ et de destination cible précis. Nous sommes attendus d’accomplir l’acte compréhensible de se rendre d’un point à l’autre, et sommes valorisés par rapport à notre productivité et ponctualité.

EN TRANSIT nous permet de voyager à travers un environnement audiovisuel qui est constamment en état de transition, abolissant temporairement nos notions de temps et de productivité. Julia utilise des échantillons sonores provenant de la vie quotidienne, à la fois naturelles et synthétiques, et les combine avec des images satellites et des vidéos originales et d’archives. Le tout mène les spectateurs au travers d’une expérience cartographique expérimentale qui transcende nos conceptions de temporalité.

 

ELECTRICITY MATTERS – 20h45

Cette performance sonore collective est le résultat de l’atelier ELECTRICITY MATTERS donné par Nataliya Petkova au Studio XX du 18 janvier au 1er février 2018. ELECTRICITY MATTERS est à la fois un atelier technique et un collectif éphémère.

En utilisant l’électricité brute comme seul matériel conceptuel, les participant-e-s explorent le potentiel sonore du flux électrique, tout en créant des instruments fluides. Le résultat de cette recherche sur les synthétiseurs analogiques prendra la forme d’une performance sonore collective.




Activités associées