Root work (work that root)

MONICA REKAS
Performance : 3 NOV 2016 | 7.30 PM
OBORO
The HTMlles Festival 2016

During this performance, Rekas will be broadcasting a healing ritual on Chaturbate.com, a popular webcam sex site. The inspiration for this project comes from her research on African-American Hoodoo spiritualism.

The tradition revolves around the magical principals of contagion and sympathy — contagion being the idea that objects in contact continue to hold influence over each other, while the principle of sympathy holds that objects possess characteristics similar to a spell’s intended result. In addition to being staple ingredients of Trinidadian cuisine, the objects she has chosen to work with possess properties that aid in decolonizing her body — a body that has never truly belonged to her. By using Chaturbate as a platform, Rekas is reclaiming the right to her representation and likeness, her physical form, and divine sexuality.

Monica Rekas’ project also attempts to question the relationship between the Black female body and webcam exhibitionism, particularly in the contexts of webcam modeling and sex work. In an age of data mining and enhanced government surveillance, the amount of agency she has over herself and the distribution of her image has become increasingly compromised. By choosing to broadcast a ritual that would otherwise be conducted in private, she is negotiating the terms of exposure with the corporate entities that wish to gain control over her body.




Related activities


Participants

Partners

Matricules

Root work (work that root)

MONICA REKAS
Performance : 3 NOV 2016 | 7.30 PM
OBORO
Festival Les HTMlles 2016

Pendant cette performance, Monica Rekas diffusera un rituel de guérison sur Chaturbate.com, un site de sexe-cam populaire. Ce projet est inspiré de ses recherches sur le spiritualisme Hoodoo afro-américain.

La tradition s’inscrit dans les principes magiques de contagion et de sympathie. L’idée de contagion suggère que des objets en contact les uns avec les autres s’influencent constamment ; tandis que le principe de sympathie implique que les objets utilisés possèdent des caractéristiques similaires au résultat espéré du sort jeté. En plus d’être des éléments clés de la cuisine trinidadienne, les objets que l’artiste a choisi pour son travail possèdent des propriétés qui facilitent la décolonisation de son corps — ce corps qui ne lui a jamais réellement appartenu. En utilisant Chaturbate, elle se ré-approprie le droit à sa représentation, son image, sa forme physique et sa sexualité divine.

Son projet tente également de questionner la relation entre le corps des femmes noires et l’exhibitionnisme en ligne, plus particulièrement dans le contexte des performances sexe-cam et du travail du sexe. À une époque où la fouille de données et la surveillance gouvernementale prévalent, le pouvoir que l’artiste possède en relation à son identité ainsi qu’à la distribution de son image est de plus en plus compromis. En choisissant de diffuser un rituel qui serait exécuté autrement dans la sphère privée, elle négocie ainsi les termes sous lesquels elle s’expose aux entités corporatistes qui cherchent à prendre contrôle de son corps.




Activités associées


Participant-e-s

Partenaires

Matricules