MachA, VaronA, MasculinA : la femme artiste dans la barbe de l’art cubain

OPENING + PERFORMANCES
Thursday, June 5th, 6:30PM
Free Entrance

EXHIBITION – June 5th to 20th, 2014
Tuesday to Friday from 10am to 5pm

@ STUDIO XX – 4001, Berri (corner Duluth) space 201

Curators :
Analays Alvarez Hernandez
Laura Verdecia Blanco
Julio César Llópiz

Studio XX is pleased to present the international exhibition MachA, VaronA, MasculinA : la femme artiste dans la barbe de l’art cubain, which will be held from June 5th to 20th in the gallery space of Studio XX. Curators Analays Alvarez Hernandez (Montreal, Canada), Laura Verdecia Blanco (Miami, USA) and Julio César Llopiz (Havana, Cuba) are pleased to collaborate with Studio XX in presenting the North American premiere of this group exhibition which brings together the work of five Cuban artists. On opening night, performances by Julio Cesar Llopiz, Grethell Rasua and Naivy Perez will be featured. A presentation by the artists and curators will be held at the Femmes Br@nchées # 102 on June 19 and in parallel, a performance event in collaboration with Encuentro will conclude the project on June 24th at the Phi Center.

 

MachA, VaronA, MasculinA : la femme artiste dans la barbe de l’art cubain

The popular expression Macho, varón, masculino! (Male, boy, masculine !) – pardon the redundancy – testifies to the place occupied in Cuba by the social construction of virility. As a means to strengthen and affirm male identity, this typically Cuban expression foregrounds an interdependence between virility and heterosexuality, and on virility and domination. In order to give a title and tone to this project that focuses on the Cuban woman artist in a largely male-dominated society, we have intentionally feminized the expression in question.

If the socio-political changes realised by the Cuban Revolution throughout the 1960s gradually provided major advances for women’s rights in general, it took much longer for women artists to break into the Cuban art world. It wasn’t until the 1980s, as part of a broader revival of national culture, that there was a significant turning point in the interrogation of issues concerning women artists, by women artists (Marta María Pérez Bravo, Ana Albertina Delgado, María Magdalena Campos, Consuelo Castañeda , Rocío García, etc).

Cultural institutions followed this « feminist blast-off » as best they could. At the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes in Havana (MNBA), pantheon of Cuban art, artists such as Juana Borrero (1877-1896), Amelia Peláez (1896-1968), Antonia Eiriz (1929-1995), Zaida del Río (1954) or Belkis Ayón (1967-1999) found a place but the works of these artists seemed like tiny sparks in a landscape where the male voice was so dominant.

In light of this context dominated by a largely patriarchal vision of historiography, the exhibition MachA, VaronA, MasculinA is intended as a platform for experimentation with the aim to explore the role of women artists in the history of the Cuban art in the collection of the MNBA . Five young Cuban artists (three women and two men), whose work is recognized both internationally and and locally context, execute this critical exercise. We are as interested in the perspective of male artists on the women’s artistic practice as we are by a female perspective. With the use of classic and new mediums (performance, video, installation, participatory action, engraving, etc), Naivy Pérez, Grethell Rasúa, Adislén Reyes, Levi Orta and Julio César Llopiz reinterpret (and reappropriate) iconic works, recurrent themes and pictorial references associated with the creative world of the woman artist.

 

The live streaming performance by Naivy Pérez, A drop of honey, depicts a scene where the artist submits to the “agony of the water drop” a Chinese torture method. She replaces water with honey, a substance with medicinal properties. In the “torture chamber”, a form of abandoned place, the only audible sound is the drop of honey hitting Pérez’s head every second. This piece is a nod to the powerful performance work of Ana Mendieta and Tania Bruguera, two internationally recognized Cuban artists. Like Mendieta and Bruguera, Pérez uses metaphors for power, martyrdom and survival, but her approach is characterized by a playful tone. A drop of honey also explores the impact of new technology on our lifestyles and behaviour, including the logistics used in crimes such as kidnapping and torture. The telephone, for example, was once the preferred tool for for kidnappers to request ransom. Today, audio/video software like Skype replaces this traditional method and adds the dimension of an image, in this case « making » the viewer attend a live torture scene, and providing a front and centre point of view, which engages the viewer even more in this (false) story.

 

Also in the world of video performance, Grethell Rasúa interprets the cliché Cuanto encontró para vencer (1) (2000) from the Cuban photographer Marta Maria Pérez Bravo. Pérez Bravo connects the symbolism of Afro-Cuban religions with purely artistic components while standing in front of a camera and staging highly spiritual settings. Standing in front of a black wall, Rasúa, bare-chested, back to the audience, wearing a skirt and a white turban, holds four candles on her outstretched arms. A video showing a hand carving words on a rock scrolls on the back of the artist (and gives the effect that the carving is done on Rasúa’s back). This performance illustrates the concept of resistance: facing adversity, we do not fail, but rather believe in ourselves and fight so that our desires and interior shine a light on the the road ahead. The contrast between light and darkness expresses the (magic) cohabitation between the religious and artistic worlds in the roots of Cuban society.

 

In a more traditional vein Adislén Reyes presents Explosión Roja, a set of twelve artists’ books (limited edition). The number of prints corresponds to the number of months in a year. Reyes wants to establish the analogy between the intervals of the menstrual cycle and the process of publishing engravings (1/12 , 4/12, etc). Subject to a variety of prejudices in the popular imagination, at times a source of contempt and superstition, or a symbol of impurity and inferiority, this monthly blood flow is nevertheless the condition of that makes it possible for human beings to reproduce. Engraving, known for giving birth to aesthetically impeccable works aesthetizes this biological phenomenon. Reyes’ “red explosions” further explore the relationship of women artists in an artistic discipline that continually reinvents itself and is carving out a new place in the practice of the young generation of artists. Despite the fact that throughout the history of Cuban art, women have repeatedly attempted to infiltrate the world of engraving, only a select group managed to cross the threshold into the pantheon of art in Cuba (2).

 

Levi Orta focuses on the representation of the female figure by male artists, and thereby the image of women as a stereotype of pleasure. Simultaneously, he wants to make a link to the old art-prostitution relationship. In Olympia con nota a pie de página, a sex industry professional walks the halls of the MNBA. She offers her services to potential clients as a tour guide-interpreter. The selected pieces for “interpretation” are those that address the woman as an object of pleasure. Orta confronts the fetishs of woman as a both pleasure and intellectual agent, all at once.

 

The co-curator of this exhibition, Julio César Llópiz concludes the artistic contributions with his piece Poster redesigning exercise (after Asela Pérez). Llopiz takes, as his starting point, a graphic work created in 1970 by the illustratore, Asela Pérez. This poster, now famous in Cuba, is the silhouette of South America in the form of a hand grabbing a gun. Poster redesigning exercise (after Asela Pérez), a work straddling graphic arts and participatory action, explores the confinement of women to certain interests but not to others, at the same time as triggering a reflection on both the handling of firearms and on the “hand” that distributes them.

 

Analays Alvarez Hernandez
Montreal, May 8, 2014

 

Notes
(1) Ce qu’il lui a fallu affronter pour vaincre (notre traduction).
(2) Nous pensons notamment à Lesbia Vent Dumois (Carrera de bicicletas, xylographie, 1961), à Belkis Ayón (La cena, collagraphie, 1988) et à Sandra Ramos (La maldita circunstancia del agua por todas partes, chalcographie, 1993).




Related activities

MachA, VaronA, MasculinA : la femme artiste dans la barbe de l’art cubain

VERNISSAGE + PERFORMANCES
Jeudi 5 juin, 18h30
Entrée libre

EXPOSITION – 5 au 20 juin 2014
Du mardi au vendredi de 10h à 17h

@ STUDIO XX – 4001, Berri (coin Duluth) espace 201

Commissaires :
Analays Alvarez Hernandez
Laura Verdecia Blanco
Julio César Llópiz

Studio XX est heureux d’accueillir l’exposition internationale MachA, VaronA, MasculinA : la femme artiste dans la barbe de l’art cubain, qui se tiendra du 5 au 20 juin prochain dans l’espace galerie du Studio XX. Les commissaires Analays Alvarez Hernandez (Montréal, Canada), Laura Verdecia Blanco (Miami, USA) et Julio César Llópiz (La Havane, Cuba) sont heureux-e-s de collaborer avec le Studio XX afin de présenter, en première nord-américaine cette exposition collective réunissant les œuvres de cinq artistes cubain-e-s. À l’occasion du vernissage, les performances de Julio Cesar Llopiz, Grethell Rasua et Naivy Perez accompagneront la soirée. La présentation des artistes et commissaires en séjour à Montréal, se tiendra lors du Femmes Br@nchées #102 le 19 juin et en parallèle, un évènement de performance en collaboration avec Encuentro viendra clôturer le projet au Centre Phi le 24 juin prochain.

 

MachA, VaronA, MasculinA : la femme artiste dans la barbe de l’art cubain

L’expression populaire Macho, varón, masculino! (Mâle, garçon, masculin) – excusez le pléonasme – témoigne de la place qu’occupe à Cuba la construction sociale de la virilité. Moyen de renforcer et d’affirmer l’identité masculine, cette locution typiquement cubaine met dans un rapport d’interdépendance virilité et hétérosexualité, ou encore virilité et domination. Pour donner le titre et le ton à ce projet, qui porte sur la femme artiste cubaine au sein d’une société essentiellement machiste, nous avons intentionnellement féminisé l’expression en question.

Si les bouleversements socio-politiques opérés par la Révolution cubaine à partir de la décennie 1960 ont progressivement instigué des avancées majeures en matière des droits de la femme, la condition féminine a tardé à se faire entendre dans les contrées de l’art cubain. Il a fallu attendre jusqu’aux années 1980, dans le cadre d’un renouveau plus large de la culture nationale, pour constater un tournant significatif dans l’interrogation artistique des problématiques concernant la femme, par des femmes artistes (Marta María Pérez Bravo, Ana Albertina Delgado, María Magdalena Campos, Consuelo Castañeda, Rocío García, etc.).

Les institutions culturelles ont suivi tant bien que mal ce « décollage féministe ». Bien qu’au Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes de La Havane (MNBA), panthéon de l’art cubain, Juana Borrero (1877-1896), Amelia Peláez (1896-1968), Antonia Eiriz (1929-1995), Zaida del Río (1954) ou Belkis Ayón (1967-1999) trouvent leur place, les œuvres de ces artistes y font cependant office de minuscules étincelles crépitant dans un terrain où prédomine la gent masculine.

À la lumière de ce contexte dominé par une vision largement patriarcale de l’historiographie, l’exposition MachA, VaronA, MasculinA se veut une plateforme d’expérimentation dans le dessein d’explorer le rôle de la femme artiste dans l’histoire de l’art cubain racontée par la collection du MNBA. Cinq jeunes créateurs cubains (trois femmes et deux hommes), dont le travail jouit d’une reconnaissance aussi bien à l’international que dans leur contexte de vie, exécutent cet exercice critique. La présence masculine est des plus nécessaires dans ce projet, car nous nous intéressons concomitamment au point de vue des hommes artistes sur la pratique artistique féminine. En usant des médiums classiques et nouveaux (performance, vidéo, installation, action participative, gravure, etc.), Naivy Pérez, Grethell Rasúa, Adislén Reyes, Levi Orta et Julio César Llópiz réinterpréteront (s’approprieront) des œuvres emblématiques, des thématiques récurrentes et des références picturales associées à l’univers créatif de la femme artiste.

 

La performance en direct via Internet de Naivy Pérez, A drop of honey, dépeint une scène où l’artiste se soumet au « supplice de la goutte d’eau », méthode de torture d’origine chinoise. Elle remplace néanmoins l’eau par du miel, une substance aux propriétés médicinales. Dans la « chambre de torture », sorte de non-lieu, seul est audible le son de la goutte qui s’écrase chaque seconde sur la tête de Pérez. Cette œuvre lance un clin d’œil à l’œuvre d’Ana Mendieta et de Tania Bruguera, deux artistes cubaines internationalement reconnues pour la puissance de leurs performances. Si Pérez recourt à des métaphores du pouvoir, du martyr et de la survie, à l’instar de Mendieta et Bruguera, sa démarche se caractérise toutefois par une approche ludique. Cette performance explore par ailleurs l’impact des nouvelles technologies sur l’ensemble de nos modes de vie et d’action, y compris sur la logistique d’actes criminels comme la séquestration ou la torture. Par exemple, le téléphone était autrefois le médium privilégié pour réclamer une rançon. Aujourd’hui, les logiciels audio-vidéo comme Skype ou Google Hangouts remplacent cette méthode traditionnelle. De plus, l’image du spectateur sur l’écran aiderait ce dernier à prendre conscience qu’il assiste à une scène de torture en direct, et qu’il en a même un point de vue privilégié, ce qui l’engagerait davantage dans le (faux) récit.

 

Toujours dans l’univers de la vidéo-performance, Grethell Rasúa interprète le cliché Cuanto encontró para vencer(1) (2000) de la photographe cubaine Marta Maria Pérez Bravo. Pérez Bravo raccorde la symbolique des religions afro-cubaines avec des composantes purement artistiques afin de dresser devant l’appareil photographique des mises en scène à haute teneur spirituelle. Devant un mur noir, Rasúa, torse nu et dos au public, jupe et turban blancs à la tête, porte sur ses bras écartés quatre bougies allumées. La vidéo d’une main taillant des mots sur une roche défile sur le dos de l’artiste (et produit l’effet que le burinage se fait à même le dos de Rasúa). Cette performance illustre une attitude de résistance : face à l’adversité, il ne faut pas défaillir, mais plutôt croire en nous-mêmes et lutter afin que nos désirs et nos lumières intérieures éclairent le chemin devant nous. En outre, le contraste entre la lumière et les ténèbres tient lieu d’image pour exprimer la cohabitation (magique) entre les univers religieux et artistiques aux tréfonds de la société cubaine.

 

Dans un registre plus traditionnel, Adislén Reyes présente Explosión Roja, un ensemble de douze livres d’artiste (édition limitée). Le nombre du tirage correspond au nombre des mois de l’année. Reyes souhaite établir une analogie entre la périodicité du cycle menstruel et le processus d’édition de la gravure (1/12, 4/12, etc.). Objet d’un éventail de préjugés dans l’imaginaire populaire, tantôt une source de mépris et de superstitions, tantôt un symbole d’impureté et d’infériorité, cet écoulement sanguin mensuel est pourtant la condition de possibilité de l’être humain. La gravure, réputée pour accoucher d’œuvres esthétiquement impeccables, permettrait d’esthétiser ce phénomène biologique. Les « explosions en rouge » de Reyes interrogent en outre la relation des femmes artistes à une discipline artistique qui se réinvente continuellement et qui se taille une place dans la pratique des nouvelles générations d’artistes. Quoique tout au long de l’histoire de l’art cubain les femmes aient fait appel de manière récurrente aux divers procédés de la gravure, seul un groupe sélect a franchi le seuil du panthéon de l’art à Cuba (2).

 

Levi Orta, quant à lui, s’intéresse à la représentation de la figure féminine par des artistes hommes et, par le fait même, à l’image de la femme en tant que stéréotype du plaisir. Simultanément, il souhaite faire un clin d’œil à l’ancienne relation art-prostitution. Dans Olympia con nota a pie de página, une professionnelle de l’industrie du sexe se promène dans les salles du MNBA. Elle offre ses services comme guide-interprète pour approcher des clients potentiels. Les œuvres sélectionnées pour le « travail d’interprétation » sont celles qui abordent la question de la femme en tant qu’objet de plaisir. Orta s’attaque ici au fétiche de la femme comme agente de plaisir et d’intellect à la fois.

 

Aussi co-commissaire de cette exposition, Julio César Llópiz clôt les contributions artistiques avec la pièce Poster redesigning exercise (after Asela Pérez). Llópiz prend comme point de départ une œuvre graphique créée en 1970 par la dessinatrice Asela Pérez. Devenue depuis lors célèbre à Cuba, cette affiche donne à voir la silhouette du continent sud-américain qui emprunte la forme d’une main empoignant un fusil. Poster redesigning exercise (after Asela Pérez), à mi-chemin entre les arts graphiques et l’action participative, explore le cantonnement de la femme à certains champs d’intérêt et pas à d’autres, tout en déclenchant une réflexion autant sur la manipulation des armes à feu que sur la « main » qui les distribuent.

 

Analays Alvarez Hernandez
Montréal, 8 mai 2014

 

Notes
(1) Ce qu’il lui a fallu affronter pour vaincre (notre traduction).
(2) Nous pensons notamment à Lesbia Vent Dumois (Carrera de bicicletas, xylographie, 1961), à Belkis Ayón (La cena, collagraphie, 1988) et à Sandra Ramos (La maldita circunstancia del agua por todas partes, chalcographie, 1993).




Activités associées