I smell a rat | Lauryn Mannigel

 

I smell a rat | Lauryn Mannigel
Monday, September, 30, 6 pm – 9 pm
Free workshop | Registration is required
At Studio XX

While all body scents* remains stigmatized in Western culture, female body scents* have a history of particularly bad associations. In this workshop, participants will critically engage with gender-related judgments on body scents*, through a presentation, discussion, and hands-on experiments. With special attention to social and cultural norms in relation to body scents perceived as female, they will explore the following questions: How do we react towards our own body scents*? Can we overcome prejudice or even disgust, by cultivating curiosity?

Workshop plan: 

  1. Greetings and introduction to the science of smell
  2. Collection of body scents*
  3. Smell exercise with body scents*
  4. Presentation and discussion: historical and contemporary examples of taboos surrounding female body scents in Western culture
  5. Smell exercise with chemical and organic products

To register, contact ateliers@studioxx.org before September 20th

*The term ‘body scent’ refers to the entire spectrum of human body odors, both natural and modified through addition of products such as shower gel, aftershave, essential oils or the like. Overall, all activities (such as reading, exercising, working, etc.), as well as food choices and health situation have an effect on our body scents.

Advice on olfactory matters by perfumer Marc vom Ende.

Studio XX is proud to collaborate with VIVA! Art Action to present Lauryn Mannigel’s work. Don’t miss Smell Feel Match at VIVA! Art Action on September 24th and 25th. Smell Feel Match was commissioned for “Experiment Zukunft”, a joint project of University Rostock and Art Center Rostock.”

Photo credit: Sabrina Meissner

______________

“SMELLING EACH OTHER WITH LAURYN MANNIGEL”
LYNDSEY WALSH

The scents of our bodies waft around us and are encoded in a deeply social and cultural set of behavioural practices. In her upcoming workshops at Studio XX, artist and researcher Lauryn Mannigel asks us to explore the olfactory experiences of ourselves and others.

In Mannigel’s “I smell a rat”, participants will engage in a dialogue about body scents and gender, with a specific focus on the stigmatization of feminine odours. Through personal investigation and group scent exploration, participants will be led through two exercises to develop critical thinking about how individuals can identify and change their entrenched judgements on the way we smell. Mannigel’s artistic practice works to overcome histories of “othering” consciously and unconsciously embedded in social interactions. Her works “Love Sweat Love” (2016), “Eat Me” (2018), and “Smell Feel Match” (2019) have artistically investigated how people perceive the body scents of others, and in 2017 her research findings were presented at the interdisciplinary Human Olfaction Conference.

Mannigel’s interest in the process of “othering” stems from the analysis of Constance Classen. Classen discusses olfactory classification as a boundary drawing process between different groups. She explains that in male-dominated societies the odour of the feminine tends to be treated as a “feared other”1.  In line with notable feminist theorist Rosi Braidotti, Mannigel’s work asks us to reflect on the relationship between our biology and our culture. As Braidotti notes, a narrative of embodied difference has been especially embedded in discourses on gender. This notion of embodied difference has long dictated our perceptions and assumptions about the bodies of others.2 The question of how smell factors into our long-held societal assumptions becomes increasingly important when thinking about the role that smell plays in social interaction.

Lauryn Mannigel is an artist-researcher and curator based in Berlin. Mannigel currently investigates the politics of body scent by unveiling judgements that people have pertaining to their experiences of others.

Lyndsey Walsh is an American biological artist, designer, writer, and visiting scholar at Humboldt-Universtat zu Berlin Department of Experimental Biophysics.

1 Classen, C., 1993. Worlds of Sense: Ch.6 Worlds of sense, in: Worlds of Sense: Exploring the Senses in History and across Cultures. Routledge, London, pp. 121–138, 156–158.

2 Price, J., Shildrick, M., Braidotti, R., 2019. Signs of Wonder and Traces of Doubt: On Teratology and Embodied Differences, in: Feminist Theory and the Body. Routledge, pp. 290–301. doi:10.4324/9781315094106-34

Participants

I smell a rat | Lauryn Mannigel

 

I smell a rat | Lauryn Mannigel
Lundi 30 septembre 2019, 18h – 21h
Atelier gratuit | Inscription requise
Au Studio XX

Si les odeurs véhiculées par le corps* restent stigmatisées dans la culture Occidentale, celles perçues comme féminines ont souvent eu mauvaise réputation. À travers des expérimentations pratiques, une présentation et une discussion, les participant-e-s aborderont les jugements liés au genre et aux odeurs du corps. Portant attention aux normes sociales et culturelles en lien aux senteurs dites féminines, il-elle-s exploreront les questions suivantes : Comment réagissons-nous face aux odeurs véhiculées par le corps*? Peut-on dépasser un préjugé, voire un dégoût, en cultivant la curiosité?

Plan de l’atelier :

  1. Accueil et introduction à la science de l’odorat
  2. Collecte d’odeurs véhiculées par le corps*
  3. Exercice d’odorat avec des odeurs véhiculées par le corps*
  4. Présentation et discussion : exemples historiques et contemporains de tabous liés au odeurs féminines dans la culture Occidentale
  5. Exercice d’odorat avec des produits chimiques et naturels

Les odeurs véhiculées par le corps désigne l’ensemble des odeurs corporelles humaines, qu’elles soient naturelles ou modifiées par addition de produits tels que le gel douche, l’après-rasage, les huiles essentielles ou similaires. Dans l’ensemble, toutes les activités (lecture, exercice physique, travail, etc.), ainsi que les choix d’aliments et la situation de santé ont un effet sur les odeurs véhiculées par le corps.

Conseils en matière olfactive par le parfumeur Marc vom Ende.

Pour vous inscrire, contactez ateliers@studioxx.org avant le 20 septembre

Le Studio XX est heureux de collaborer avec VIVA! Art Action pour présenter le travail de Lauryn Mannigel. Ne manquez pas Smell Feel Match les 25 et 26 septembre à VIVA! Art Action. Le projet Smell Feel Match a été produit par « Experiment Zukunft », une collaboration entre l’Université de Rostock et le centre d’art de Rostock.

Crédit photo: Sabrina Meissner

 

___________

 

SMELLING EACH OTHER AVEC LAURYN MANNIGEL”
LYNDSEY WALSH

Les senteurs émanent de notre corps, flottent autour de nous et sont profondément encodées dans un ensemble de pratiques comportementales sociales et culturelles. Dans son prochain atelier au Studio XX, « I smell a rat », l’artiste et chercheuse Lauryn Mannigel nous demande d’explorer nos expériences olfactives de nous-mêmes et des autres.

Au cours de l’atelier, les participant-e-s s’engageront dans un dialogue sur les odeurs corporelles et le genre, avec un accent particulier sur la stigmatisation des parfums corporels féminins. À travers cette étude personnelle et cette exploration de groupe des odeurs, les participant-e-s seront mené-e-s à travers deux exercices qui les inciteront à développer une pensée critique sur la façon dont les individus peuvent identifier et modifier les jugements bien ancrés qui influencent leur manière de sentir. La pratique artistique de Mannigel s’emploie à surmonter un historique d’altérisation consciente et inconsciente intégré dans les interactions sociales. Ses œuvres « Love Sweat Love » (2016), « Eat Me » (2018), et « Smell Feel Match » (2019) constituent une enquête artistique sur la façon dont les gens perçoivent les odeurs corporelles des autres. En 2017, ses résultats de recherche ont été présentés à la Conférence interdisciplinaire sur l’olfaction humaine.

L’intérêt de Mannigel dans le processus d’altérisation naît des analyses de Constance Classen, qui décrit la classification olfactive comme l’action de tracer des frontières entre différents groupes. Elle explique que dans les sociétés à prédominance masculine, l’odeur du féminin tend à être traitée comme « l’autre (que l’on) craint »1. Conformément à celui de la théoricienne féministe Rosi Braidotti, le travail de Mannigel nous incite à réfléchir sur la relation entre notre biologie et notre culture. Comme le note Braidotti, le récit de cette différence incarnée a été particulièrement enraciné dans les discours sur le genre. Cette notion a longtemps dicté nos perceptions et hypothèses sur le corps des autres.2 La question de savoir comment les odeurs s’inscrivent dans nos hypothèses sociétales de longue date prend une importance croissante quand on pense au rôle que l’odeur joue dans l’interaction sociale.

Lauryn Mannigel est une artiste chercheuse et commissaire qui vit à Berlin. Mannigel étudie actuellement les politiques de l’odeur du corps en dévoilant les jugements portés par les gens sur leurs expériences des autres.

Lyndsey Walsh est une artiste américaine en biologie, designer, écrivaine et chercheuse invitée au Département de la biophysique expérimentale du Humboldt-Universtat zu Berlin.

1 Classen, C., 1993. Worlds of Sense: Ch.6 Worlds of sense, in: Worlds of Sense: Exploring the Senses in History and across Cultures. Routledge, London, pp. 121–138, 156–158.

2 Price, J., Shildrick, M., Braidotti, R., 2019. Signs of Wonder and Traces of Doubt: On Teratology and Embodied Differences, in: Feminist Theory and the Body. Routledge, pp. 290–301. doi:10.4324/9781315094106-34

Participant-e-s