Hardware Stories | Anne Goldenberg & al.


A project initiated by Anne Goldenberg (goldjian)
With Christina Haralanova, LN Foster, Annick Girard, Bun Chhunly Keo et Sophie Toupin
Sunday, April 28th, 2019, 10am-6pm
At Studio XX
Free | Registration is required
+ Accessibility info

Hardware Stories is a feminist and decolonial Hackday that questions the current life cycle of our electronic devices. As an invitation to reclaim our autonomy towards the extractivist, colonial and consumerist logics of our contemporary societies, this event recontextualizes the relationship to technologies in an ethics of care.

Through two workshops and a round table, artists and activists will demystify the production methods of our technological tools and will equip us to repair, divert or recover these everyday objects. Everyone will be able to learn, exchange and acquire technical skills in a D.I.Y spirit.

SCHEDULE:

Introduction – 10am – 10:30am

Workshop 1 | Fix it together – 10:30am – 12:30pm
Feminist methodologies for technical repair
With Christina Haralanova and LN Foster
Bring your own (small) thingy to repair!

Lunch Break (Potluck) – 12:30pm – 1:30pm

Round Table | Electronic circuits – 1:30pm – 3:30pm
Make our digital artefacts and their repair (in)visible and (non)desirable

Montreal repairers: Citizens initiatives | Annick Girard
– Design in California, Made in China : the life cycle of E-waste | Bun Chhunly Keo
– Anticolonial hacking | Sophie Toupin

Workshop 2 | Restorative Fictions – 3:30pm – 5:30pm
Bring to the world collective repair

With LN Foster et goldjian (Anne Goldenberg)
Poster/zine making workshop on how to tinker in a feminist and decolonial way + Restorative design activities.

Wrap-up – 5:30pm-6pm

  • TO REGISTER send an email at ateliers@studioxx.org with “Registration | Hardware Stories” as subject before April, 23, 2019. Please indicate the name of participants if you register for several people. A acknowledgement of receipt will be sent.

__________

We acknowledge that Studio XX is located on unceded Indigenous lands. The Kanien’kehá:ka Nation is recognized as the custodians of the lands and waters on which we gather today. Tiohtiá:ke /Montreal is historically known as a gathering place for many First Nations. Today, it is home to a diverse population of Indigenous and other peoples. We respect the continued connections with the past, present and future in our ongoing relationships with Indigenous and other peoples within the Montreal community.

Participants

Matricules

Hardware Stories | Anne Goldenberg & al.


Un projet initié par Anne Goldenberg (goldjian)
Avec Christina Haralanova, LN Foster, Annick Girard, Bun Chhunly Keo et Sophie Toupin
Le dimanche 28 avril 2019, 10h-18h
Au Studio XX
Événement gratuit et bilingue | Inscription requise
+ Information d’accessibilité

Hardware Stories est un Hackday féministe et décolonial qui questionne le cycle de vie actuel de nos dispositifs électroniques. Véritable invitation à revendiquer notre autonomie face aux logiques extractivistes, coloniales et consuméristes de nos sociétés contemporaines, cet événement met en contexte le rapport aux technologies dans une éthique du soin.

Au gré de deux ateliers et d’une table ronde, artistes et activistes démystifieront les modes de production de nos appareils technologiques et nous outilleront afin de réparer, de détourner ou de récupérer ces objets du quotidien. Chacun-e-s pourra apprendre, échanger et acquérir des compétences techniques dans un esprit DIY.

AU PROGRAMME :

Accueil et introduction – 10h-10h30

Atelier 1 | Fix It Together – 10h30-12h30
Méthodologie féministe de réparations techniques
Avec Christina Haralanova et LN Foster
Amène ton (petit) bidule à réparer!

Pause lunch (potluck) – 12h30-13h30

Table ronde | Circuits électroniques – 13h30-15h30
Rendre (in)visibles et (in)désirables nos artefacts numériques et leurs réparations
Réparer à Montréal: enjeux et projets citoyens | Annick Girard
– Conçu en Californie, fabriqué en Chine : le cycle de vie des déchets électroniques | Bun Chhunly Keo
– Hacking anticolonial | Sophie Toupin

Atelier 2 | Fictions Restoratives – 15h30-17h30
Mettre au monde des réparations collectives
Avec LN Foster et goldjian (Anne Goldenberg)
Création d’un fanzine et/ou d’un poster sur les pratiques de réparations féministes et décoloniales + design d’activités de réparation.

Cercle de clôture – 17h30-18h

  • POUR VOUS INSCRIRE envoyez un courriel à ateliers@studioxx.org avec pour sujet « Inscription | Hardware Stories » avant le 19 avril 2019. Merci de spécifier le nom des participant-e-s. Un accusé de réception vous sera envoyé.

__________

Nous reconnaissons que le Studio XX est situé en territoire autochtone, lequel n’a jamais été cédé. Nous reconnaissons la nation Kanien’kehá:ka comme gardienne des terres et des eaux sur lesquelles nous nous réunissons aujourd’hui. Tiohtiá:ke / Montréal est historiquement connu comme un lieu de rassemblement pour de nombreuses Premières Nations, et aujourd’hui, une population autochtone diversifiée, ainsi que d’autres peuples, y résident. C’est dans le respect des liens avec le passé, le présent et l’avenir que nous reconnaissons les relations continues entre les Peuples Autochtones et autres personnes de la communauté montréalaise.