Design Your Own Wearable E-Textiles with Wearable Bits | Lee Jones

 

WORKSHOP | Design Your Own Wearable E-Textiles with Wearable Bits
Artist: Lee Jones
Thursday, October 24 and Friday, October 25, 2019
(attendance to both sessions is mandatory)
5:30 pm – 8:30 pm
Workshop in English
Free | Registration is required
At Studio XX

FULL

In her research, Lee Jones seeks to demystify the use of electronic textiles and smart clothing through a combination of artisanal and electronic techniques. Thanks to conductive yarns, it is now possible to sew, weave and knit flexible electronic components directly into clothing. Within a workshop setting, the artist will introduce participants to the creation of clothing that measures touch, movement and posture. They will produce electronic textile samples and a garment prototype that combines prefabricated and handmade components. 

A light snack will be served. To register: ateliers@studioxx.org

_____

Soft Connexions / Connexions souples

Connecting us to the world, increasing our human potential, communicating with our environment: technological developments are putting us in touch with our surroundings in many ways, whether subtle and invisible or physical and concrete. “Wearable technologies,” made from electronic textiles, are one aspect of this connection to the world, in which the interrelation between space and the beings, materials and objects within it builds a dynamic of reciprocity. Nonetheless, electronic textiles remain a complex field of investigation and creation, usually requiring diverse and sophisticated knowledge, interdisciplinary group training and multiple fields of expertise. As such, these technologies are not normally accessible by the general public.

The Wearable Bits project from Canadian artist and researcher Lee Jones aims to demystify the creation of electronic textiles and intelligent clothing, countering the common perception that it requires prior knowledge of sewing, garment-making, electronics, robotics, interactivity, etc. On the premise that facilitating the prototype stage unleashes imagination and creativity, Lee Jones has created a toolkit by which participants can explore the potential of wearable technologies. The workshop offers people with no experience in electronics or e-textiles the chance to build their own prototypes for intelligent clothing. Made from pieces of felt that are quick and easy to assemble, along with diagrams of electronic elements and their functions, the Wearable Bits are presented as puzzle pieces that participants can put together as they choose. The final form therefore depends on the design in mind.

The artisanal dimension of the workshop—a kind of speculative collage—stimulates the sense of exploration and invention inherent in creative projects. During the workshop, participants design and create e-textile samples, as well as a prototype garment that combines prefabricated and handmade components. Creating textiles that measure the touch, movement and posture of their wearer serves to (de)construct some of the preconceived ideas around clothing and how we wear it.

Nathalie Bachand

_____

Lee Jones is an artist, design researcher and PhD student interested in wearable technologies and e-textiles. She holds regular workshops on smart clothing and soft circuits.

Nathalie Bachand is a writer and curator. She is interested in the issues of digital technology and its conditions of emergence in contemporary art.

Participants

Matricules

Design Your Own Wearable E-Textiles with Wearable Bits | Lee Jones

 

ATELIER | Design Your Own Wearable E-Textiles with Wearable Bits
Artiste : Lee Jones
Le jeudi 24 et le vendredi 25 octobre 2019
(La participation aux deux sessions est obligatoire)
De 17h30 à 20h30
Atelier en anglais
Gratuit | Inscription requise
Au Studio XX

ATELIER COMPLET

Dans ses recherches, Lee Jones cherche à démystifier l’usage des textiles électroniques et les vêtements intelligents à travers un mélange de techniques artisanales et électroniques. Grâce aux fils conducteurs, il est aujourd’hui possible de coudre, de tisser et de tricoter des composantes électroniques souples directement dans les vêtements. Dans le cadre d’un atelier, l’artiste initiera les participant-e-s à la confection de vêtements qui mesurent le toucher, les mouvements et la posture. Ces dernier-ière-s confectionneront des échantillons de textiles électroniques ainsi qu’un vêtement prototype combinant des composantes préfabriquées et d’autres fabriquées à la main. 

Une collation légère sera servie. Pour vous inscrire : ateliers@studioxx.org

_____

Soft Connexions / Connexions souples

« Se connecter au monde, augmenter son potentiel, communiquer avec son environnement : les développements technologiques tendent à nous lier à ce qui nous entoure de diverses façons et à différents niveaux, que ce soit de manière subtile et invisible ou physique et concrète. Ce que l’on nomme les wearable technologies, ou technologies portables, essentiellement constituées de textiles électroniques, participent de ce rapport au monde où l’interrelation avec l’espace et ce qui s’y trouve – êtres, matières ou objets – est au cœur d’une dynamique de réciprocité. Les textiles électroniques demeurent cependant un complexe champ d’investigation et de création, nécessitant des connaissances pointues et variées – appelant souvent la formation de groupes interdisciplinaires aux multiples expertises –, et surtout inconnues d’un plus large public.

Le projet « Wearable Bits » de l’artiste et chercheure canadienne Lee Jones vise à démystifier la perception générale voulant que, pour « tâter » des textiles électroniques et concevoir des vêtements intelligents, il soit nécessaire d’apprendre couture, confection, électronique, robotique, interactivité, etc. La prémisse étant que la facilitation de l’étape de prototypage puisse délier l’imaginaire et la créativité, Lee Jones a créé une « boîte à outils » (toolkit) permettant d’explorer le potentiel des technologies portables. Il s’agit d’offrir à des gens n’ayant aucune connaissance en électronique ou e-textile la possibilité de prototyper leurs propres vêtements intelligents. Constitués de pièces de feutre faciles et rapides à assembler et de représentations schématisées d’éléments électroniques et de fonctionnalités, les « Wearable Bits » se présentent comme autant de pièces d’un puzzle à imaginer, dont la figure finale dépend de l’objectif envisagé.

La dimension artisanale de l’atelier – sorte de collage spéculatif – stimule les réflexes d’exploration et d’inventivité propres à tout projet de création. Plus concrètement, les participant-e-s sont invité-e-s à conceptualiser et confectionner des échantillons de textiles électroniques, ainsi qu’un vêtement prototype combinant des composantes préfabriquées et d’autres fabriquées à la main. Il s’agira d’une construction textile pouvant mesurer le toucher, les mouvements et la posture de celui ou celle qui les porte, contribuant ainsi à construire/déconstruire les perceptions et à priori liés à nos habitudes vestimentaires. »

Nathalie Bachand

_____

Lee Jones est artiste, chercheure en design et doctorante en recherche sur les technologies portables et les textiles électroniques. Elle anime régulièrement des ateliers sur les vêtements intelligents et les circuits souples.

Nathalie Bachand est auteure et commissaire. Elle s’intéresse aux problématiques du numérique et à ses conditions d’émergence dans l’art contemporain.

Participant-e-s