CRY CRY KILL KILL | Voice, Body and Female Hysteria

 

With Louise Orwin

Sunday, April 15th, 2018

1 pm to 5 pm

15 participants max

FREE | Registration is required

At Studio XX

 

Louise Orwin’s project CRY CRY KILL KILL explores the commodification and proliferation of tropes of female hysteria. Taking as its starting point the cliché of the tragic heroine which is so prolific in pop culture, the project interrogates what the repetition and reproduction of this kind of imagery might say about the culture we live in, and wonders whether embracing this image can ever be empowering or whether there’s a way of looking beyond it. This workshop is part of the initial stages of the project which begin by investigating spaces for the outpouring of female emotion by looking at the voice and the body.

The CRY CRY KILL KILL workshop will introduce participants to Louise’s practice, and working methodologies,  looking specifically at conceptions of female emotion in pop culture, and representations of gender and socio-political ideologies. Through written and practical exercises such as performative wailing/singing, durational crying, and the use of video and sound manipulation, they will be encouraged to experiment and play to investigate performative trope and archetype. They will look more specifically at how emotion is portrayed and gendered through the voice and the body. The focus is on experimentation and exploration rather than a specific outcome. No prior experience is required.

No experience is required. This workshop is intended for people identifying as female, queer or non-binary.

To register, send an email to ateliers[at]studioxx.org before April 8th, 2018

 

This project is supported by UK Young Artists and is part of a cross-border residency aiming at opening up new pathways for future working between Canadian and UK artists. Funded by Arts Council England and De Montfort University, Nottingham Trent University and the University of Derby.

Matricules

CRY CRY KILL KILL | Voix, corps et hystérie féminine

 

Avec Louise Orwin

Dimanche 15 avril 2018

De 13h à 17h

15 participant-e-s max

GRATUIT sur inscription

Au Studio XX

 

CRY CRY KILL KILL explore la marchandisation et la prolifération du trope de l’hystérie féminine. Puisant ses références dans le stéréotype de l’héroïne tragique véhiculé par la culture populaire, ce projet étudie en quoi la répétition et la reproduction de ce type d’iconographie témoignent de la société contemporaine. La revendication de cette imagerie peut-elle être libératrice? Comment en repousser les limites? L’atelier proposé est une des premières étapes du projet CRY CRY KILL KILL et cherche à aménager des espaces aptes à accueillir l’effusion féminine.

Les participantes se familiariseront d’abord avec la pratique et les méthodologies de travail de Louise Orwin. Elles s’attarderont ensuite à l’analyse des conceptions de l’émotion féminine dans la culture populaire et les représentations du genre et d’idéologies socio-politiques. Au moyen de différents exercices d’écriture et pratiques tels que crier/chanter de façon performative, pleurer (trop) longtemps et la manipulation vidéo et sonore, elles seront encouragées à jouer et expérimenter pour explorer tropes et archétypes performatifs. Plus spécifiquement, elles observeront comment l’émotion est perçue et genrée à travers la voix et le corps.

Pas d’expérience requise. Cet atelier est dédié au personnes s’identifiant comme femme ou non-binaire.

Pour vous inscrire, envoyer un courriel à ateliers[at]studioxx.org avant le 8 avril 2018.

 

Ce projet est soutenu par UK Young Artists et s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une résidence internationale visant à encourager les échanges entre artistes canadien-ne-s et britanniques. Il est financé par les institutions suivantes : Arts Council England, De Montfort University, Nottingham Trent University et University of Derby.

 

Matricules