CONTINGENT: Only if participation occurs

Curators: Erandy Vergara & Mark Clintberg

IN CIRCULATION LAUNCH + EXHIBITION OPENING
Thursday, December 11, 5 to 7pm
Free Entrance

CURATORS + ARTIST PRESENTATIONS
Thursday, December 11, 7 to 9pm
5$ suggested donation*

@ STUDIO XX – 4001, Berri (corner Duluth) space 201

EXHIBITION
December 11 to 19th, 2014
Tuesday to Friday from 10am to 5pm
Saturday, Sunday, Monday 12pm – 5pm

 

As part of our end of 2014 season event Wired Women Salon #105, Studio XX is pleased to collaborate with Media@McGill,launching the new issue of In Circulation as well as an exhibit featuring the works of artists Helen Reed and Hannah Jickling, Nicole Lattuca, Klintberg & Nemerofsky, Dean Baldwin, Heba Y. Amin, Zohar Kfir, Jeff Kulak and Charlie Williams, Cynthia Hammond, Camille Bédard, Shauna Janssen, Roger Latour and Itai Peleg. The exhibition, curated by Mark Clintberg and Erandy Vergara-Vargas, will open on December 11th followed by the curators and artists presentations and will be held from December 11th to 19th in the gallery space of Studio XX.

*Donations contribute to the general activities of Studio XX.

 

Why participate? Who can participate and who cannot? Who set the rules of participation? What is the role and what are the limits of technologies and platforms for contemporary forms of collaboration? What strategies and forms of collaboration are deployed to draw attention to or trouble conventions of faith, gender, intimacy, beauty, and knowledge?

This exhibition gathers together eight projects which are contingent upon the participation of different agents, and that each respond to one of the questions above. Some of these emerged as a response to a problem of a local community, while others invited participation in specific art and educational projects. Overall, they question the assumption that participatory strategies are inherently positive, and that they enable horizontal and democratic decision-making processes in the public realm.

These projects reveal the limits faced by some agents who wish to document or intervene in social injustices. But far from preventing participation, these works reveal the need for a nuanced understanding of what participation is. Participation is contingent upon the action, organization, and gathering of people, but also contingent upon public policies, laws, and social constructs. Rather than assuming that participation is good in itself, they reveal the tensions at the centre of negotiations with others, and the still fixed conventions that make people claim positions when participating. Decisions to participate are directed by personal desires that are constructed from social situations. This exhibition turns a critical eye to participation and invites gallery visitors to consider participation as contingent on a vast array of circumstances.

This exhibition results from an open call for artworks, as well as invited and commissioned projects. All eight projects are born from contingency, from a series of complex events and situations that could not necessarily be predicted; they result from frustration, from pain, from struggle, from hope, from the desire to respond to social injustices and to incite supposedly frivolous actions – such as crafting chocolates, fostering seedlings, displaying flowers, and serving drinks – that reveal some tensions involved in participation.

The methods, practices, and models gathered in this exhibition result from different junctures that incite more than one person to take action, to participate. They are contingent in the sense that they all invite participation, but also in that they only fully come into existence through participation. These types of participation, however, are accented by economic, historic, and social problems that set the rules of participation.

This exhibition is part of the special issue “To Participate: Global and Spatial Perspectives” of In Circulation, an interdisciplinary journal based in the Department of Art History & Communication Studies at McGill University in Montreal.

 

IN CIRCULATION is an interdisciplinary journal based in the Department of Art History & Communication Studies at McGill University in Montreal, Quebec. The journal is an annual graduate journal, published electronically in the Fall of each year. Each issue will address both historical and contemporary realities. incirculation.ca

Media@McGill is a hub of research, scholarship and public outreach on issues and controversies in media, technology and culture.

CONTINGENT: Only if participation occurs

Commissaires: Erandy Vergara & Mark Clintberg

LANCEMENT de la revue In Circulation + VERNISSAGE de l’exposition
Jeudi 11 décembre 2014, 17h-19h
Entrée libre

PRÉSENTATIONS DES COMMISSAIRES ET DES ARTISTES
Jeudi 11 décembre 2014, 19h-21h
Contribution volontaire de 5$*

@ STUDIO XX – 4001, Berri (coin Duluth) espace 201

EXPOSITION
Du 11 au 19 décembre 2014
Du mardi au vendredi, 10h-17h
Samedi 13, Dimanche 14 et Lundi 15, 12h-17h

 

Dans le cadre de notre Salon Femmes br@nchées 105, qui conclut l’année 2014, le Studio XX est heureux de collaborer avec Media@McGill pour le lancement de la publication électronique In Circulation, où sera également présentée une exposition incluant les oeuvres des artistes Helen Reed et Hannah Jickling, Nicole Lattuca, Klintberg & Nemerofsky, Dean Baldwin, Heba Y. Amin, Zohar Kfir, Jeff Kulak et Charlie Williams, Cynthia Hammond, Camille Bédard, Shauna Janssen, Roger Latour, et Itai Peleg. L’exposition, dirigée par les commissaires Mark Clintberg et Erandy Vergara-Vargas, sera lancée dans  l’espace galerie du Studio XX, conjointement au lancement de la revue, le jeudi 11 décembre à partir de 17h. Les présentations des commissaires ainsi que des artistes présent-e-s débuteront à compter de 19h.

*Les dons contribuent à soutenir les activités du Studio XX.

 

Pourquoi participer ? Qui est en mesure de participer et qui ne l’est pas ? Qui fixe les règles de la participation ? Quel est le rôle et quelles sont les limites des technologies et des plateformes dédiées aux formes contemporaines de collaboration ? Quelles stratégies et formes de collaboration sont déployées pour attirer l’attention sur ou pour venir troubler les usages de la foi, du genre, de l’intimité, de la beauté et de la connaissance ?

Cette exposition rassemble huit projets qui dépendent de la participation de différents agents, et dont chacun répond à une des questions précédentes. Certains d’entre eux ont émergé en réponse à un problème d’une communauté locale, tandis que d’autres ont sollicité la participation dans des projets d’art spécifiques et éducatifs. Dans l’ensemble, ils interrogent l’hypothèse selon laquelle les stratégies participatives sont fondamentalement positives et qu’elles rendent possible des processus décisionnels horizontaux et démocratiques dans le domaine public.

Ces projets révèlent les limites rencontrées par certains agents qui souhaitent documenter ou intervenir dans le cadre d’injustices sociales. Mais loin d’une participation préventive, ces œuvres révèlent la nécessité d’une compréhension nuancée de ce que la participation est. La participation est subordonnée à l’action, à l’organisation et au rassemblement de personnes, mais elle est également subordonnée à des politiques publiques, des lois et des structures sociales. Plutôt que de supposer que la participation est bonne en soi, ils révèlent les tensions situées au centre des négociations avec les autres, et les usages toujours figés qui amènent les gens à prendre position lorsqu’ils participent. Les décisions de participer sont déterminées par des désirs personnels qui sont construits à partir de situations sociales. Cette exposition propose  un regard critique sur la participation et invite les visiteurs à considérer la participation comme contingente sur un vaste éventail de circonstances.

Cette exposition est le résultat d’un processus d’appel d’œuvres associé à des projets commandés et invités. Les huit projets sont tous nés de la contingence, d’une série d’événements et de situations complexes qui ne pouvaient pas nécessairement être prévus ; ils sont le résultat de la frustration, de la douleur, de la lutte, de l’espoir, de la volonté de répondre aux injustices sociales et d’inciter à des actions soi-disantes frivoles – telles que la fabrication artisanale de chocolats, l’adoption de semis, la présentation de fleurs et le service de boissons – qui révèlent quelques tensions inhérentes à la participation.

Les méthodes, pratiques et modèles rassemblés dans cette exposition proviennent de différentes circonstances qui incitent plus d’une personne à passer à l’action, à participer. Ils sont contingents dans le sens où ils invitent tous à la participation, mais aussi en ce qu’ils n’arrivent pleinement à exister qu’à travers la participation. Cependant, ces types de participation sont amplifiés par des problèmes économiques, historiques et sociaux qui fixent les règles de participation.

Cette exposition fait partie du numéro spécial “To Participate: Global and Spatial Perspectives” de  In Circulation, une revue interdisciplinaire du département d’Histoire de l’art et d’Études en Communications de l’Université McGill à Montréal.

 

IN CIRCULATION est une revue interdisciplinaire du département d’histoire de l’art et d’études en communications à l’Université McGill à Montréal, Québec. Le journal est un journal annuel d’études supérieures, publié par voie électronique à l’automne de chaque année. Chaque numéro traite de réalités historiques et contemporaines. incirculation.ca

Média@McGill est un pôle de recherche, d’études et de développement des publics sur les questions et controverses dans les médias, la technologie et la culture.