DISCHARGE! KANNON 999 | alaska B

Studio XX is pleased to welcome, from March 23 to May 8, 2015, as part of the 2014-15 residency program, artist alaska B and her interactive animated tableau project DISCHARGE! KANNON 999.

DISCHARGE! KANNON 999 (pronounced ‘three nine”) is an interactive animated tableau portraying the long journey of ‘CAS­1 KRAKEN’, a giant robot Bodhisattva fashioned after the Chinese transgender deity Kuan Yin in a 1980s science fiction Anime style. After the ship is discovered derelict and seemingly abandoned in space, the audience must access the ship’s memory logs if they ever hope to solve the mystery of the crew’s disappearance.

Kuan Yin is described in Pure Land Buddhism as the Captain of the ‘Bark of Salvation’, a ship, or fleet of ships, that carry the dead to be reborn in the pure land of Amitabha Buddha. Similarly, the giant robot seen in DISCHARGE! KANNON 999 is carrying the last remnants of humanity through space to a distant Earth-­like planet called Pureland.

The installation is a series of white panels with animations projected onto them. The audience interacts with the installation through an interface of 8×8 light up pads, changing the clips that play, generating an endless anime opening sequence with video and sound.




Related activities


Participants

Matricules

DISCHARGE! KANNON 999 | alaska B

Dans le cadre de son programme de résidences, le Studio XX est heureux d’accueillir alaska B du 23 mars au 8 mai 2015 pour la réalisation de DISCHARGE! KANNON 999, un projet de tableau interactif animé.

DISCHARGE! KANNON 999 (prononcé “three nine”) est un tableau animé interactif dépeignant le long voyage de « CAS1 KRAKEN ‘, un robot géant Bodhisattva fabriqué d’après la divinité trans-genre chinoise Kuan Yin – un animé de science-fiction des années 80. Suite à la découverte d’un navire apparemment laissé à l’abandon dans l’espace, le public doit accéder aux journaux de bord du navire s’il espère résoudre le mystère de la disparition de l’équipage.

Dans le bouddhisme de la Terre pure, Kuan Yin est décrite comme la capitaine du «Bark of Salvation» : un navire, ou une flotte de navires, qui amène les morts à renaître sur la Terre pure du Bouddha Amitabha. De façon similaire, le robot géant, aperçu dans DISCHARGE! KANNON 999, aide les derniers vestiges de l’humanité à traverser l’espace vers une planète lointaine et ressemblant à la Terre nommée Pureland.

L’installation présente une série de panneaux blancs sur lesquels sont projetées des animations. Le public interagit avec l’installation via une interface composée de plaquettes lumineuses 8×8, changeant les extraits qui jouent, et générant une séquence d’ouverture animée et continue avec vidéo et son.




Activités associées


Participant-e-s

Matricules